Posted by: nazli | November 30, 2006

Thursdays That Thrill The Thoughts!

“The great secret … is not having bad manners or good manners … but having the same manner for all human souls: in short, behaving as if you were in Heaven, where there are no third-class carriages, and one soul is as good as another.” – George Bernard ShawThis quote warmed my heart – to me it the epitome of humanity and compassion. And then I challenged myself – lest I become complacent or self-righteous in my own humanity. When it comes to my friends and the person with whom I choose to spend the rest of my life – I am very particular. In other words, in my relelntless pursuit of being alive, I allow only people I consider to be beautiful within & warm & loving into my life and I categorically keep out any that I consider to be a negative. So does that mean that I do not consider all souls as being good as another? Or that in considering all to be equal, can I not be discriminate in the company I keep? I am thinking about it – meanwhile …

… there are 2 more weeks left in the semester and I tell you it has been the busiest but the best semester! Lately, I find myself more relaxed than ever. Ultimately I feel that I know 100 more people who chisel me into what I am meant to be. Yes – I consider every single one of the students to be equal souls (who would I be not to), despite their varying academic performance.

Dr. Ahmadinejad sent a letter to the American people : should the Americans a) read it or b) return to sender c) mark it as spam and delete it?

A $2 million dollar apology for a man wrongly accused of terrorism. Is this the only “wrongful” case? Will we ever know or is not knowing the price of freedom. I certainly don’t know.

Manchester United – the bestest team in the world – maintaining it’s lead in the English Premiership.

Here is an article from TIME Magazine that lists, “The Five Fatal Mistakes of Bush’s Mideast Policy“.

“It is the manners and spirit of a people which preserves a repulic” – Thomas Jefferson (I must say that contrary to popular opinion, Americans are some of the warmest and spirited people I have ever met – genuine warmth beats cool proper manners)

“Rudeness is a weak man’s imitation of strength” – Eric Hoffer (agreed – personally I think good manners are a mark of high self-respect)

I have been rude recently – by being passively aggressive – that’s terrible and unbecoming. Never again! Also I have found that I remember strangers who have been rude to me (not too many) because they leave a raw and jarring imprint on me. I am resolved to never be rude to anyone at all – ever – from now till the end of time – especially to those I love.

Hope this is the best Thursday of the week for you! Peace and Warmth and Good Manners to your soul that is certainly second to none!

Leave a Reply

Categories

