Posted by: nazli | June 5, 2006

Beautiful Places

Traveling has been good for me because it allowed me to see beyond my imagination. There are so many such places and I hope to add to the repertoire.

For example, New York City holds a special place in my life because it was responsible for opening my eyes and my mind in such a concentrated time span, that toughened yet humanized me – the education, the professional experience, the personal confidence that NYC has engendered in me has been life-changing.

Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe stays with me always. My family and I spent many a summer there and that will remain a highlight of my life. Victoria Falls was discovered by David Livingstone and named after Queen Victoria. But in fact this mighty falls existed before any discovery and was called “Mosi Oa Tunya” by the locals, meaning, “the smoke that thunders”. And it thunders, spraying mists of water for miles – feels like you are in the middle of a rainforest! It is the most powerful natural falls in the world and yet remains virtually untouched despite it’s tourism draw; powerful and perfect in its raw existence, never bowing to anything external…such inspiration! The significance of Mosi Oa Tunya/ Victoria Falls is personal and powerful to me – but actually it is simply beautiful and that is enough to be one of the most memorable place I have visited.

Côte d'Azur is dazzling! It has the irreplaceable quality of being both glamorous and serenely beautiful. The countryside is absolutely breathtaking and warm and natural with century old cobble-stoned pathways and lush green fields and vineyards – but go towards the beach and you are in for unmatched glamour and high flying spirit. Oh to have a serene and warm and sincere inner, and a glamorous outer.

What other locales should I add to my list of places I must visit? Turkey (Istanbul)? Brazil? Spain (Granada)? Maryland (Chesapeake Bay)? … ?? 🙂


Ciao, Arividerci, Aufwiedersehen, Hasta Pronto – see you when I return!
(… till then, what are places that you have found beautiful? … )

Leave a Reply

Categories

