Posted by: nazli | November 19, 2005

Beauty and the Subconscious

Looking at the pictures of my mother over the last many years and I am convinced that she is the most beautiful woman in the world! Of-course I look nothing like her, but given that my dad is incredibly handsome and gorgeous, I am well covered. The people I love – naturally are good looking to start off with – but I find they only become better looking as they become dearer to my heart.

But beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I am reminded of a story of when I first met my music teacher. I was about 10 years old and my first impression on seeing her was, “oh she looks so ugly!” It still hurts me now to think that I would have that reaction. However, the point of the story is that after the first few lessons, I found that she was so lovely and sweet and kind – that believe me, in front of my impressionable eyes, she became the loveliest lady. Her character enveloped her and I remember thinking – “wow she is so pretty!”

So first sight can be deceiving. I have found the most handsome, debonair, charming men to turn out to be quite unattractive and unappealing.

But there is also something to be said about instinct – and the subconscious mind. When something feels so wrong or something feels so right – without any logical explanation. Sometimes we ignore it because we would much rather not face what our instinct says versus what we want – but perhaps it is our very instincts that will lead us towards what we really want.

The subconscious mind is like a garden – whatever variety of seeds we plant will produce the corresponding garden. So dazzling, positive, confident, happy excited exuberant thoughts – and voila, a Dazzli Nazli (that’s only me though), and pessimistic, insecure, negative thoughts – and voila, an undesirable creature – stay away. The subconscious mind within is as fascinating as the stars and space above – there is no end, in any direction of exploration.

Another lesson I learnt today for the thousandth time – that my reaction to any situation can make it or break it. Humility, warmth and understanding –instead of disdainful, cool, and dismissive – makes all the difference. Of-course I am always the former! Me? Cool and dismissive? Never! Why I am the epitome of warmth and understanding!

Such deep ponderings…I would rather gaze at the stars and laugh in sheer delight of being alive…

Leave a Reply

Categories

